Press release | Press releases | Writing



September 1st, Tropical Storm Ida caused severe flooding in New York City, Long Island and the Hudson Valley areas, damaging homes with record rainfall

Dutchess County landlords and tenants who suffered damage or loss from Ida Now eligible for housing assistance, crisis counseling, unemployment assistance, home repairs and legal services

Families and businesses, including those without flood insurance, can now apply to FEMA for help

After securing a declaration of disaster for communities in New York, Long Island and the Hudson Valley devastated by Tropical Storm Ida last month, unlocking millions of dollars in federal aid to boost recovery efforts U.S. Senate Majority Leader Charles E. Schumer and U.S. Senator Kirsten Gillibrand today announced that FEMA has provided individual assistance to Dutchess County.

On September 2, 2021, FEMA approved a disaster declaration for New York, Long Island, Dutchess, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Sullivan, Ulster and Westchester counties. Individual assistance, however, was initially approved only for the counties of the Bronx, Kings, Nassau, Queens, Richmond, Rockland, Suffolk and Westchester. Now residents of Dutchess County will be able to access essential additional resources for home repairs and other services such as crisis counseling and unemployment assistance. Families without insurance coverage may also be eligible for assistance covering certain disaster expenses to help restore their homes or personal property.

“Tropical Storm Ida devastated communities across New York City and Dutchess County suffered millions of damage to roads, businesses and hundreds of homes.” said Senator Schumer and Senator Gillibrand. “As we continue to fight to get the homes, businesses and communities of Dutchess County on the road to recovery, we are proud that FEMA has responded to our call for this vital federal assistance to provide families the support they need to recover and build back stronger. We will continue to fight tooth and nail to ensure that families in the Hudson Valley have all the resources they need to rebuild themselves stronger than before. ”

The Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Relief Act authorizes the President to issue “major disaster” or “emergency” declarations before or after a disaster occurs. The decision to issue a disaster declaration is at the discretion of the president and must be requested by the state governor. These declarations unblock federal aid via FEMA which is divided into two main areas: individual assistance (IA) which helps families and individuals, and public assistance (PA) which is mainly intended for emergency work. such as debris removal and permanent infrastructure repairs. When assessing the degree of damage caused by PA, FEMA considers six factors: estimated cost of assistance, localized impact, insurance coverage, risk mitigation, disaster recent and other federal aid programs. Regarding cost, FEMA has certain thresholds that must be met to qualify for the PA specific to the state and counties in question.


Previous post Next post

Source link


About Author

Comments are closed.